Soup-isotto-patty-wiches

I have this problem with leftovers. Which is really bad. You know that Mock-a-leekie Soup? I’ve had two bowls. One for quality control and one for the photo I used. That was it. My husband isn’t much of a soup fan, so that leaves me with not a lot of options. I was worried I might have to freeze portions of it and take up precious freezer space. And then I organized my pantry.

And found this.

20130124-125853.jpg

I thought, “Oh, wow. Risotto sounds so delicious right now.” Of course, that laziness “problem” set in. I had used all my stock making Mock-a-Leekie, as well as most of the risotto-worthy vegetables, and I was not changing out of pajamas for this. I got out the soup and a slotted spoon and set to work.

Lazyman Risotto

  • 1/2 C soup vegetables
  • 1/2 C arborio rice
  • 1 1/2 – 2 C stock or broth from soup (add water if necessary)
  • 2 T nutritional yeast

In a medium pot over medium heat, add the vegetables and rice. Cook, stirring continuously, for about 2 minutes. Add 1/2 C of the stock, simmer and stir until the liquid is absorbed. Stir in the nutritional yeast. Continue adding stock in 1/2 C increments and stirring until rice reaches desired consistency.

Of course, the risotto was delicious and really hit the spot that day. But what was I supposed to do with those leftovers? Cue inspiration in the form of Veggietorials again. She has this amazing recipe for kimchi fried rice balls. If she could do it with fried rice, why couldn’t I do it with risotto? Answer: no reason whatsoever.

Risotto Patties

  • 1 C risotto
  • 1/2 C prepared Vegg yolk
  • flour
  • bread crumbs or panko

Divide risotto into 1/4C measurements and flatten into round patties. Dredge in flour, Vegg, and bread crumbs. Place on a cookie sheet lined with parchment or a silpat. Refrigerate at least 30 minutes. Pan-fry in a little oil or bake at 400F for 20 minutes, turning halfway through.

20130124-133012.jpg

The risotto patties didn’t last the day, but there was still soup in the container. Now what?

An Instagram friend forced me (right!) to try a recipe for some sweet potato rolls the other day. They were really amazing and got me thinking. What other vegetables could I purée to make bread dough? You know where this is going.

Most of my soup broth went to making risotto, so there were mostly potatoes, carrots, and leeks hanging out in my container. The vegetable purée should be a little more watery than mashed potatoes — go ahead and experiment!

Soup Sandwich(bread)

  • 1 C puréed soup
  • 1 C warm (110F) water
  • 1 T active dry yeast
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3-4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp thyme
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder

In a small bowl or large measuring cup, combine warm water, sugar, and yeast. Stir and set aside.

In a large bowl, sift together salt, seasonings, and 2 1/2 C of flour. Make a well in the center. Add puréed soup and the foamy yeast mixture. Stir just so most of the flour is incorporated. Add 1/2 C flour. Knead, adding more flour to prevent dough from sticking to hands and bowl as needed, until smooth and elastic.

Form dough into ball. Oil the bowl and roll the dough ball to fully coat. Cover and let rise somewhere warm and away from drafts for 1 hour.

Once risen, you can roll the dough into a log and bake in a loaf pan, or, divide for dinner rolls, soup bowls, etc. I chose to divide my dough into four large pieces and shape into round mini-loaves for bread bowls. Whichever you choose, cover the dough and let rise 20 minutes.

Bake at 375F for 20-25 minutes.

20130124-134914.jpg

 

Take that, leftovers! Oh. And I still have some soup left. Guess I’ll use my bread bowls with that. After I stir the leftover risotto into the soup. Soup Inception!!

3 thoughts on “Soup-isotto-patty-wiches

  1. Again and again and again…freaking genius. I like these “transformer” meals, the gift that keeps on giving. Which just gave me the idea for an Instagram challenge for you:
    Post 5 food photos in a row.First photo can be of any dish you like.
    The next 4 photos must incorporate the leftovers from the previous dish. So if you make a pot of chili first, the chili needs to go in the next dish. If you make chili nachos next, chili nachos must go in the next and so on. Game?
    And you do know that I was talkin’ to you, pajama lady,in my last video right😁

  2. Pingback: Leftovers Challenge | The Vegan Virtuoso

Leave a Reply

