Leftovers Challenge

When I posted about Soup-isotto-patty-wiches, I didn’t realize I was opening up a can of worms. Cobi of Veggietorials came up with a dastardly challenge and I couldn’t resist (after all, I wouldn’t have to get out of my pajamas).

The challenge?

Post 5 food photos in a row. First photo can be of any dish you like. The next 4 photos must incorporate the leftovers from the previous dish. So if you make a pot of chili first, the chili needs to go in the next dish. If you make chili nachos next, chili nachos must go in the next and so on.

Deal.

I spent a little bit of time planning, working out what I could morph each dish into while trying to satisfy all my instagram-induced cravings. I drew out a handy flow-chart and made my shopping list. Afterwards, craziness ensued. Absolutely delicious craziness.

I’ll be dividing the dishes into a series of posts, otherwise, you may get tired of scrolling!

Dish 1: Roasted Sweet Potatoes with Walnut Pesto

Dish1

I wanted to start off simply for a few reasons.

  1. Plenty of room to add extras
  2. Vegan food doesn’t have to be complicated
  3. I ate a lot in the few days leading up to this. Keeping it simple made my tummy happier with me.

So, these humble potatoes were simply roasted in foil in my oven, skinned, and given a little dab of pesto. They made an excellent and easy breakfast. Don’t know how to roast a potato? Okay. You can do it in the oven or the microwave and it’s practically foolproof. Whichever way you choose, you’re going to gently scrub your potatoes to remove any dirt and pierce them with a fork a few times.

If going the microwave path, just place your potato on a microwave-safe plate, cover with a paper towel, and microwave on high for 5 minutes, turning once. If you want to cook several potatoes at once, just add 2-3 minutes for each potato.

For oven roasting, individually wrap those taters in foil and place directly on the oven rack. Bake at 375-400F for 30-40 minutes. If I have the oven that hot already, I generally toss a potato or two in there just on principle. They make excellent quick meals or additions to so many things.

Once potatoes are done, just let them cool 2-3 minutes, until they’re still hot but not ridiculously so. Then, just split them open and enjoy, or, top them with your favorite fixins’. Sweet potatoes are great in that they swing both ways (sweet or savory).

Because of my aforementioned reasons, I kept it simple. I still had leftovers from making Walnut Salad chillaxin’ in my fridge, so pulled them out to incorporate into a pesto.

  • 2-3 T raw walnut salad
  • 2 handfuls fresh baby spinach
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/4 – 1/2 C fresh cilantro
  • drizzle of extra-virgin olive oil

Process the first four ingredients until finely chopped. Add olive oil and process until combined.

In all, I roasted four sweet potatoes. I ate most of one and packed some in the husband’s lunch, at least confident that the next two dishes would turn out really well. I’m happy to say that they did! Keep your eyes peeled for Dish #2!

5 thoughts on “Leftovers Challenge

  1. Pingback: Leftovers Challenge: Dish 2 | The Vegan Virtuoso

  2. Pingback: Leftovers Challenge: Dish 4 | The Vegan Virtuoso

  3. Pingback: Ratatouille Leftovers | The Vegan Virtuoso

Leave a Reply

