Leftovers Challenge: Dish 4

Follow along as I answer a challenge by Veggietorials to come up with five dishes, each using the leftovers from the previous dish

Dish 4: Southwest Totcho Soup

TotchoSoupIf you’ve been following along, you’ve seen the evolution of these dishes from simple roasted sweet potatotes, to gnocchi, to totchos. And now, a soup. Because, after all, gnocchi are just dumplings with a fancy name and a coat of lipstick.

I was a little uncertain that this would turn out properly, and I’ve never been a fan of southwest-flavored soups (why not just make chili, for heaven’s sake?), so I was pleasantly surprised by this. I don’t know if I would make it again just for itself (again, I’m a chili girl), but it was a fun way to use up the leftovers from the totchos, and it looked absolutely beautiful! Before you ask, yes it tasted great, too.

I’m glad I had fried the gnocchi, since the crispy exterior allowed them to soak in the soup for a little while without becoming slimy.

  • 1 C vegetable broth
  • 1/2 C spicy hot tomato juice (like Spicy V8)
  • 1/2 C water
  • 1 C fried gnocchi (about 20)
  • 1/2 C southwest relish, solids only

Combine broth, juice, and water in a pot and simmer on medium heat. Add the gnocchi, bring to a boil, then reduce heat back to a simmer on medium-low. Add the relish and allow to simmer about 5 minutes, until heated through.

This makes only about 2-3 servings. I ate a little and set aside about 2 C of the soup (gnocchi and all) for my final dish. It was a little more involved, but totally worth the effort!

2 thoughts on “Leftovers Challenge: Dish 4

  1. Pingback: Leftovers Challenge Finale | The Vegan Virtuoso

  2. Pingback: Leftovers Challenge: Dish 3 | The Vegan Virtuoso

Leave a Reply

