Chocolate Death Puddingcake

This is going to be short because, honestly, I need to get back to eating this thing.

20130213-181832.jpg

Despite the five-star reviews promising an easy recipe for a chocolate explosion and orgasmic bliss (okay, I might be exaggerating a little, but they should have warned me), this recipe bit my Skeptical Node and wouldn’t let go. I had to try it.

From the super-thick batter to the dirt storm it gets topped with, I was shaking my head. Then, with the addition of hot water forming a giant $***-puddle on top, I started muttering under my breath to all the baking gods. I wanted chocolate. What can I say? I got it. Probably more chocolate than my body has room for.

Preheat oven to 350F.

  • 3/4 C sugar
  • 1 C AP flour
  • 3 T cocoa
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/3 C coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 C soy milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • Mix sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, and salt in a medium mixing bowl. Add oil, milk, and vanilla, and stir until combined. Spread batter evenly in the bottom of an 8×8 pan.

    In a small bowl, combine:

  • 1/2 C sugar
  • 1/2 C packed light brown sugar
  • 4 T cocoa
  • Sprinkle evenly over top of batter. Don’t stir.

  • 1 1/4 C hot weak coffee (or water)
  • Pour over batter and sugar mixture. Don’t stir. Bake 40 minutes. Remove from oven and let sit 10 minutes, until center is set.

    NOTE: This cake doesn’t rise, but it does bubble. Make sure you bake it in a dish with at least a 2-inch depth.

    Cut a piece of the cake, and place upside-down on your plate or in a bowl, and spoon some sauce from the bottom of the pan over it.

    Try not to eat this all at once, eh? It makes a great “emergency” Valentine’s dessert 😉

    11 thoughts on “Chocolate Death Puddingcake

    Leave a Reply

    